Home Club Information Playing at the Club

Playing at the club

A session at the club

The Satellite Badminton Club welcomes all people interested in playing doubles badminton in a friendly atmosphere - be it for fun, exercise, skill improvement, or just to socialise.

Our only restriction is that you need to be 14 years and over, and have some basic badminton experience. Players younger than 16 will also need to be accompanied by an adult to and from the venue.

The club meets weekly on Monday nights but there is no commitment needed from players. Players can play as much (or as little) as they like and can attend as frequently as they like, or on an ad hoc basis.

We have players from all walks of life and backgrounds, various age groups (students to seniors), and skill levels. Most of our regular players are intermediate players, though there are also advanced and less experienced players. Although beginners with basic badminton skills are certainly welcome, the club is not suitable for complete novices who want to learn how to play due to the way the session is structured.

Our current venue offers four courts and we play using tournament grade goose feather shuttlecocks. You don't need a partner as games in the first three hours are organised by the club's committee members to ensure everyone gets a variety of balanced games. For the remaining time, players are free to make up their own games, or even play a singles game if a court is available.

Whilst we encourage friendly competition amongst our players, our emphasis is just on having fun. If this sounds like you or something you would like to try, please register your interest with us and we'll issue you an invitation once we can accept more players.

Our Players

Over the years, we've had players from all over the world and backgrounds including:

  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • China
  • Denmark
  • England
  • France
  • Germany
  • Guernsey
  • Hong Kong
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Ireland
  • Isle of Man
  • Iraq
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Kenya
  • Korea
  • Malaysia
  • Mauritius
  • Myanmar
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Pakistan
  • Philippines
  • Poland
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Scotland
  • Singapore
  • Slovenia
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • Sweden
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand
  • United States
  • Vietnam
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Did you know?